EPA Administrator Appoints St. Joseph, Missouri, Mayor Bill McMurray to EPA Local Government Advisor


U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region 7
11201 Renner Blvd., Lenexa, KS 66219
Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, and Nine Tribal Nations
EPA Administrator Appoints St. Joseph, Missouri, Mayor Bill McMurray to EPA Local Government Advisory Committee
Contact Information: press@epa.gov
Environmental News
(Lenexa, Kan., Feb. 25, 2020) – Today, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Administrator Andrew Wheeler announced the appointment of St. Joseph, Missouri, Mayor Bill McMurray as one of 12 new members to the Local Government Advisory Committee (LGAC). The 31-member LGAC provides advice to EPA on developing stronger partnerships with local governments and building their capacity to deliver environmental services and programs. The administrator also appointed five new members to the LGAC’s Small Community Advisory Subcommittee.
“Ensuring the Agency is well informed on how its programs impact local governments is an essential part of our decision-making process,” Wheeler said. “I want to thank our 12 new LGAC members, and five new Small Community Advisory Subcommittee (SCAS) members, for their willingness to serve in this important role. I also want to thank the returning LGAC and SCAS members for their contributions. The committees provide invaluable insight on how to best work with our local partners to build and maintain strong environmental programs, and I look forward to working with them in the coming year.”
The administrator also appointed Commissioner Kitty Barnes of Catawba County, North Carolina, as the LGAC’s new chair.
“I am honored to be appointed chair of the Committee and look forward to working with Administrator Wheeler on issues of importance to us at the local level,” said Commissioner Barnes. “As elected and appointed officials of states, tribes, and local governments, we bring firsthand experience from the communities we represent.”
Kitty Barnes has served 21 years on the Catawba County Board of Commissioners, and 12 years as its chair. She has led the county to the top ranking in North Carolina for curbside, single‐stream recycling and biannual household hazardous waste collections. Commissioner Barnes also serves as vice‐chair of the National Association of Counties’ Environment, Energy, and Land Use Steering Committee and Resilient Counties Task Force.
The 11 other newly appointment LGAC members include:
The Honorable Gary Ward Black, commissioner of agriculture, state of Georgia
The Honorable Bruce Bracker, supervisor, Santa Cruz County, Arizona
The Honorable Melissa Cribbins, commissioner, Coos County, Oregon
The Honorable Eric Genrich, mayor, Green Bay, Wisconsin
The Honorable Evan Paul Hansen, House delegate, state of West Virginia
The Honorable Ryan E. MacKenzie, state representative, House 134th District, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
The Honorable Steve Miller, mayor, Fairfield, Ohio
The Honorable Cynthia Pratt, deputy mayor, Lacey, Washington
The Honorable Matt Surrency, mayor, Hawthorne, Florida
The Honorable Paul TenHaken, mayor, Sioux Falls, South Dakota
The Honorable Eric Thompson, Tehoroniathe (Bright Sky), chief, St. Regis Mohawk Nation, New York
The five new appointments to the LGAC Small Community Advisory Subcommittee include:
The Honorable Vincent DeSantis, Esq., mayor, Gloversville, New York
The Honorable Ella M. Jones, city council member, Ferguson, Missouri
The Honorable Joan Lee, commissioner, Polk County, Minnesota
The Honorable Gabriel Lopez, vice-chair, AK-Chin Indian Community, Arizona
The Honorable Ann Mallek, commissioner, Albemarle County, Virginia
Chartered in 1993 under the Federal Advisory Committee Act, the Local Government Advisory Committee provides independent and objective policy advice to the EPA administrator on a broad range of issues affecting local governments, such as regulatory innovation and reform, environmental protection tools, pollution prevention, performance measures, and coordinated environmental management and stewardship. The Small Community Advisory Subcommittee was established by EPA in 1996 to advise the administrator on environmental issues of concern to the residents of smaller communities. New committee members were selected based on their demonstrated leadership experience; proven record of service to their communities; and involvement in effective environmental protection services and programs at the community, state, and national level.
The committees intend to convene in early 2020 to begin their work.
For more information and to see the full list of LGAC and SCAS members, please visit our websites: EPA Local Government Advisory Committee and EPA Small Community Advisory Subcommittee.
# # #
Connect with EPA Region 7 on Facebook: www.facebook.com/eparegion7
Follow us on Twitter: @EPARegion7

If you would rather not receive future communications from EPA Region 7, let us know by clicking here.
EPA Region 7, 11201 Renner Blvd., Lenexa, KS 66219 United States


HICLOVER is growing brand for environmental protection field, and market share with most of Africa, Middle East, Southeast Asia countries and part of North America, Europe territory. We are trusted partner for governmental organizations, non-profit organizations, international contractors, logistics organizations, military, pet cremation business owners, etc. We have export experience more than 40 countries, including war zone like Iraq, Afghanistan, Somalia, South Sudan. Mobile: +86-13813931455(WhatsApp) Website: www.hiclover.com Email: sales@hiclover.com Email: hicloversales@gmail.com